How gelatin can reduce the pain associated with osteoarthritis !!!
Osteoarthritis (OA) is a form of degenerative joint disease that causes a variety of symptoms such as pain, swelling, abnormal bone growth, disfigured cartilage and loss of movement . While patients may develop OA in any joint, it most commonly seen in the knee, back and neck, hips, fingers and toes. An investigation revealed how the jelly can help fight osteoarthritis.
What is gelatin?
This kind of tasteless food is used in many other food products. It is derived from collagen (which is key joint health component) and extracted from the bones, hooves, skin and tissues of animals sent for slaughter domesticated.
It has effective gelling properties and therefore can be found in many products such as soft candies, marshmallows, yogurts and desserts some gelatin as a gelling agent.
Gelatin and osteoarthritis of the knees
In a study conducted at the American Academy of Family Physicians in Dallas that adding supplement gelatin special diet may provide some relief to people with mild osteoarthritis of the knee.
In the study, 175 patients with osteoarthritis of the knee were randomly assigned to receive a supplement of gelatin a day or a placebo.
Those who received a supplement containing 10 grams of gelatin plus calcium and vitamin C had significant improvements in all areas in pain, stiffness and mobility measures.
The report also suggests that supplementation of gelatine should also be rich in vitamin C because it is the key to pain relief.
Studies eating habits have shown that people who have a diet rich in vitamin C are less likely to develop OA than those whose diets are a poor source of vitamin. Only 60 mg of vitamin C – equivalent to that found in an orange one is believed to have a protective effect.
Taking gelatin for osteoarthritis
You can find supplement gelatin heath food stores, and is now prepared this type. Simply digested directly.
In Gelatin Food
For those who like to take the jelly directly from the diet, not pills then be consumed as food gelatin. Any form of gelatin is available in food stores confer protection benefits; you can even eat gelatin (unsweetened, of course)! Just follow the instructions on the package.
If you are a meat eater can also increase the levels of natural gelatin in your diet by including more bone broths happy in your meal plans.
Vegetarian alternative to gelatin
Those who are vegetarians have a problem eating gelatin even as a supplement because it comes from animal origin. vegetarian substitutes for gelatin are available for chefs, but have not been subjected to trials and therefore not known at this point in time, if they are able to confer the same benefits as traditional gelatin or fish.